We’re over the halfway mark of the year, but summer is still upon us, and I for sure am looking forward to my vacation in August! Since I knew I’d want some reading suggestions for my travels, when I hosted a giveaway in the end of June, I asked all participating #bookstagrammers to comment what their favorite summer reads were. Narrowing down over 100 suggestions (some duplicated) I pulled the most popular and highest rated 2019 releases. Also, I’ve added links to their summaries on Goodreads, incase you want to add them to your Want to Read list (you know you will)!

Here are best summer reads of 2019!

1. The Unhoneymooners by Christina Lauren

Goodreads Rating: 4.05

This rom-com was a huge hit from the lot of Bookstagrammers polled. When two sworn enemies get a chance at a free vacation to Hawaii, they take it- only to have to pretend to be newlyweds. Sounds like a fun beach read to me!

Recommended by : @whatkayreads, @the_book_world_of_chessie, @thats_what_michelle_read, @bookmamareviews, @booksandcoffeepleasemx @Dogeareddaysofsummer, @mnw1515, @frombookscomeslove, @southernbellereading

2. The Summer of ’69 by Elin Hilderbrand

Goodreads Rating: 4.11

In 1969, the Levin family is looking forward to holding court at their grandmother’s historic family home in Nantucket for the summer- however, the tumultuous year has brought on a slew of changes the broad array of Hilderbrand characters. The Queen of the Summer Novel is back at it again, with her first foray into historical fiction.

Recommended by : @bibliowino, @lilacsandliterature, @beth.eats.and.reads, @my.boys.mom, @storyhaze

3. The Rest of the Story Sarah Dessen

Goodreads Rating: 4.22

Emma Saylor’s mother passes away when she was young, and doesn’t remember much about her. While spending the summer with her maternal grandmother, she starts to recall the stories of North Lake and with the help of a young man named Roo, she fills in the memories of her mother. A typical fluffy Dessen YA that’s always great for the poolside.

Recommended by : @legallyblondeandbookish, @hellobookstash, @kaylasonlyheart, @thetravelinglibrary_,

4. Ask Again, Yes by Mary Beth Keen

Goodreads Rating: 4.13

Neighboring Gleeson and Stanhope families find themselves deeply affected by tragedy over the course of four decades, begging the question, how much can a family forgive? The novel sounds perfect for fans of family drama and heartbreaking emotions- you know, the kind we get done reading and then, despite our grief, insist everyone must read.

Recommended by : @afewofmyfavoritebooks, @the_bibliobesties

5. The Things You Save in a Fire by Katherine Center

Goodreads Rating: 4.38

A badass female firefighter uproots her life and moves back to Boston to tend to her mother, only to be received with unwelcome at her new firehouse post. Among the heckling is the potential attraction to the rookie who doesn’t mind having a tough chick around. Katherine Center’s latest sounds like a great read with a feminist leading lady, a little romance, and probably some tear-jerking moments.

Recommended by : @coop01, @littleteacherbigappetite

6. Park Avenue Summer by Renee Rosen

Goodreads Rating: 4.01

Alice Weiss leaves her small town to head for New York City and big dreams, landing a job working for editor in chief of Cosmopolitan Magazine. 1965 NYC with a nod to Sex and the City, the Devil Wears Prada, and Mad Men? HECK YES. This recommendation has made it onto my TBR thanks to the research for this list!

Recommended by : @my.boys.mom, @readwithme.kc,

7. Some Choose Darkness by Charlie Donlea

Goodreads Rating: 4.38

Master of suspense author Donlea’s latest novel is earning amazing reviews this summer with his new mystery. A dual timeline in which a forensic reconstructionist must solve a crime from 1979. It sounds wonderfully creepy, and perfect for true crime fans who want a little edge with their beach.

Recommended by : @luckycharmedlovesbooks,

8. Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid

Goodreads Rating: 4.25

Billy and Graham Dunne started up the band known as The Six, composed of fellow musicians Karen, Eddie, Warren, and Pete. When forced to work with up and coming singer Daisy Jones, the band starts to derail- but the drama is spectacular. TJR gives her readers the inside scoop through interview format, and since I’ve already read this one, I can guarantee that you’ll love it and that it’s a must read for not only the summer, but the year!

Recommended by : @readtalkrepeat,

9. The Whisper Man by Alex North

Goodreads Rating: 4.30

Another suspense thriller, The Whisper Man adds the element of danger with a serial killer on the prowl, a sudden death, and a disappearance. If you’re looking for something that will scare you in the daylight, this is a great choice!

Recommended by : @mynovelmenagerie,

10. After The End by Clare Mackintosh

Goodreads Rating: 4.16

Fans of Jodi Picoult’s My Sister’s Keeper and Angie Kim’s Miracle Creek will love this family medical drama by Mackintosh. In the novel, a couple must handle the emotional turmoil and decisions of having a sick child, which sounds like it’ll lead to a tear-jerking read.

Recommended by : @nanas_booknook,